Tips & Tricks

How to Stop Getting Added to Telegram Groups [100% fix]

Stop From Adding to Telegram Groups: Telegram users are often added to random groups, the vast majority of which are spam.

This might be aggravating, especially if you have little interest in the goals of these organizations. To stop this from happening, you can prohibit random people from adding you to Telegram groups.

Following the revisions to WhatsApp’s privacy policies, there has been a boom in Telegram users all around the world. If you use Telegram for its unique features, you should be aware of how Telegram groups are formed these days. So, have you become tired of being added to odd Telegram groups by your friends or others? Here are three methods to stop yourself from adding to Telegram Groups.

Telegram’s usage of both usernames and phone numbers renders users more vulnerable to spam organizations. This is in contrast to systems like WhatsApp, which depend purely on phone numbers. Additions to groups are limited to persons who have you as their contact.

How to Stop From Adding to Telegram Groups? 3 Easy Steps

This article will show you how to prevent random people from adding you to spam groups. And you won’t have to worry about removing groups every now and then.

There are a few options for preventing someone from adding you to Telegram groups. Allowing your contacts to add you to groups is one option, while blocking those who continually add you to groups is another. Details may be found here.

Trick 1) Allow Your Contacts Only

Open the Telegram app and touch the hamburger menu on the left to proceed to “Settings.”

Then select “Privacy and Security” from the settings menu.

Tap “Groups & Channels” on the privacy settings screen.

Change “Everyone” to “My Contacts” in the “Who Can Add Me” column.

Random persons who aren’t on your contact list won’t be able to add you to Telegram groups if you do this.

You can also make exceptions for certain folks. For example, under the “Exceptions” section below, you can restrict certain contacts from joining you to groups.

stop from adding to telegram groups
Stop From Adding to Telegram Groups
stop from adding to telegram groups
Stop From Adding to Telegram Groups

If you join a huge Telegram group that isn’t only for your friends, or especially if you join a large channel, someone will most likely try to add you to additional groups that they are promoting. You’ll want to adjust the default settings because they allow for this. To do so, start the app and go to Settings -> Privacy and Security -> Groups & Channels, then select My Contacts rather than Everyone. You may also omit (or include) particular contacts (or users who aren’t in your contacts).

Trick 2) Block that person or Spam Group

Another option to avoid joining random Telegram groups is to recognise such people and then ban those who continue to add you to Telegram groups. To block someone on Telegram, follow these steps:

Go to “Settings” in Telegram after opening it.

Choose “Privacy and Security” from the drop-down menu.

At the top, you’ll notice “Blocked Users,” which you should tap.

On the following screen, you’ll find the option “Ban User,” which you should press and then choose the contact you wish to block.

On the next pop-up, confirm it by tapping on “Block User” once more. That’s all there is to it; once you’ve blocked someone, they won’t be able to add you to a group.

stop from adding to telegram groups
Stop From Adding to Telegram Groups

Trick 3) Change your UserName to another or Hide your Profile from the Public

Remember that Telegram usernames are public, and using one allows others to locate you in global searches and send you messages even if they don’t have your phone number.

They’ll only see your Telegram username if you don’t add the person’s phone number to your contacts. On Telegram, however, there is a means to mask your phone number.

Important note: While your username may have changed and some members of your chat group may not know you, the conversation will continue to function normally. You have a username id with which you are identifiable that will never change. You won’t have to re-verify or join all of your existing groups.

stop from adding to telegram groups
Stop From Adding to Telegram Groups

Keep visiting DigitalGyan for more technical news and updates.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button