What is the Cogs Ladder Model of Team Development?

A Cogs Ladder is a model used to illustrate group formation and behaviour that was devised in 1972 by Proctor & Gamble manager George Charrier in his work Cog’s Model: A Model of Group Growth.

The author observed how groups interacted, from their first encounter to becoming a high-performing team, and what patterns to anticipate along this process.

Cog’s Ladder conclusion was that group advancement includes five stages: the courteous phase, the “why are we here” phase, the power phase, the collaboration phase, and the spirit de corps phase. Teams will naturally proceed through these stages, but their leader should direct them to achieve the last, most productive level as soon as feasible.

A team leader can use the model to guide the work of a big group, preventing the group from squandering resources and time. Groups are prone to awkward interactions, personality clashes, and distractive behaviour.

Nevertheless, the model does not eradicate these behaviours; instead, it permits the group to go through the phases and reach the final stage. Understanding this natural process while being motivated to achieve the ultimate level is critical for every leader.

History of Cog’s Ladder

The Cog’s Ladder model of group growth is based on the article “Cog’s Ladder: A Model of Group Growth,” authored and published in 1972 for a Procter & Gamble newsletter by George O. Charrier.

The original document was prepared to assist Procter & Gamble group managers in better understanding the dynamics of group work to enhance efficiency. It is now utilised to assist in comprehending group formation by the United States Naval Academy, the United States Air Force Academy, and other enterprises.

5 Stages in Cogs Ladder

There are five stages in the Cog’s Ladder model; these are described below:

Stage One: The Polite Phase

Initially, team members will be anxious and guarded, hesitant to reveal too much about themselves. This is a normal reaction as people try to acquire the favour of other members while simultaneously assessing their personalities. Therefore, this stage deals with getting acquainted with team members. All simple ideas exist, and controversy is avoided at this stage.

Knowing that first impressions are important, most people will play it safe by remaining silent and attempting to figure out where they belong in the group.

Stage Two: The “Why are we here?”

Introductions and acquaintances often dominate this stage. After the openings are through, the team develops a clear understanding of why they have been brought together. The focus shifts away from the individuals and onto the team’s goals, generally guided by the moderator.

Individual duties are assigned, and cliques may emerge as people display similar interests and capabilities. Communication gets more natural as obstacles fall away and become more successful.

Stage Three: The Power Phase

Individuals strive for influence and authority during this stage of the process, as the group creates a natural hierarchy. The most self-assured and competitive individuals tend to advance to the top in this setting. The effort to get there might become hot, but this is a vital step in the team’s development.

This implies that, while keeping conflict levels under control, the moderator should allow this stage to unfold spontaneously. Individuals will describe how the initiatives should be carried out, while more restrained personalities will decide who to support. Results are rarely achieved at this stage, but it is critical for creating the team’s makeup.

Stage Four: The Cooperation Phase

Once the team hierarchy is defined, the group may work toward the overarching goals. Momentum begins to grow as individuals finish their respective responsibilities and make progress. It is critical at this point that, even as the natural leaders start to take command, all members continue to contribute to the team’s production and direction.

The author emphasises that at this time, adding new members should be avoided since team spirit has begun to emerge, and the team should be mindful of anything that may upset this.

Stage Five: The Espirit de Corps Phase

The esprit stage is about esprit de corps, which translates as ‘team spirit. This stage is characterised by mutual acceptance with high cohesiveness and a general feeling of team spirit (Espirit de Corps).

By this point, the team is operating effectively, members have been assigned suitable duties, communication is solid, and work is being accomplished effectively. The team is completely settled, which implies that no energy is being squandered on internal worries. Productivity is at an all-time high, and the goal now is to keep it there for as long as possible.

Overall, this model matches much of Tuckman’s Theory of Group Development. Stages pretty much are similar in both models.

Also read: What are the Four Dimensions of Relational Work?

Show More


Hi, My name is Kartik. I have expertise in Technical and Social Domains. I love to write articles that could benefit people and the community.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button