Google

Google Can Delete your Gmail, Photos, and Drive from next month, as per this New Rule

From June 1, Google will implement new rules that could result in certain users’ Gmail, Drive, and Photos being deleted from these hugely popular services. Google will make several changes that could have a significant effect on some users of its famous Gmail, Photos, and Drive services.

The new terms effectively authorize the US technology company to erase personal data stored on its servers without obtaining authorization. This major upgrade was first revealed in December 2020, with Google sending out an email to users explaining how the updates would affect them.

Loading...

“We’re writing to inform you that we recently introduced new storage policies for Google Accounts that use Gmail, Google Drive (including Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms, and Jamboard files), and/or Google Photos that put us in line with best trends,” Google explained in an email.

Now, this may sound scary to someone who has a lot of private emails or family photographs saved with Google, but the effect should be negligible. These updates were made so that Google will do a major spring cleaning if people are using these programmes and don’t notify the tech giant.

To solve this data challenge, Google is now allowing users to log into their accounts for two years. Anyone who has been gone for more than 24 months can see items missing, as Google has the ability to begin deleting content.

“If you are inactive in Gmail, Drive, or Photos for two years (24 months), we can uninstall the content in the product(s) where you are inactive. We may remove your content through Gmail, Drive, and Photos if you surpass your storage cap for two years “According to the company.

Users will be given plenty of warning before their family photos are discarded, with those affected sending an email informing them that their material will be deleted, giving them plenty of time to keep their affairs in order.
It’s also worth remembering that, despite the fact that the updates take place on June 1, no content can be deleted until at least June 1, 2023.

Google Can Delete your Gmail, Photos and Drive from next month, as per this New Rule

This is due to the fact that the latest guidelines will not take effect until June 2021, giving consumers two years to adhere. Any Google Account will continue to have 15 GB of free storage through Gmail, Drive, and Photos, which Google expects will last most users for many years.

While this move will not be to everyone’s liking, there will be more Google news later this month. Sundar Pichai, Google’s CEO, has told investors to expect “major product changes and announcements” at the company’s developer conference in San Francisco.

Loading...

Google IO is set to take place from May 18 to 20, and it promises to be an interesting few days for Google fans. Keep Visiting DigityalGyan for more Technical News and Updates.

Facebook Comments

Show More
Back to top button