List of the All Indian States and Their Capitals

India is a county with diverse natures, religions, languages, customs and traditions. Its population is over 1.4 billion.

There are more than a thousand languages spoken in India. There are also more than a hundred differences in how people practice their religion. There are more than a thousand customs. India is a place of great contrasts – both micro and macro.

India is not only home to many religious practices and traditions, but there is also a lot of tradition to be found in other areas. An example is the way many rural Indian villagers live. Tradition is a very important part of daily life in India – and it’s a way of life that has a lot of merits, whether you’re going to practice a religion or not.

In India, the country is governed by a parliamentary system. Managing a vast country from a single location can become quite challenging. As a result, the Indian Constitution grants the central government the authority to make states feel appropriate. This post contains a list of Indian states, their capitals, and the year they were created.

Many individuals are unaware of India’s entire number of states and union territories, as well as their capitals. This page will provide you with the most recent information about India’s States and Capitals. In India, there are now 28 states and 8 union territories.

All Indian States and Their Capitals 2022 Complete List

Sr. No.StateCapital
1Andhra PradeshHyderabad
2Arunachal PradeshItanagar
5ChhattisgarhNaya Raipur
9Himachal PradeshShimla (Summer)
Dharamshala (Winter)
13Madhya PradeshBhopal
14MaharashtraMumbai (Summer)
Nagpur (Winter)
23Tamil NaduChennai
26Uttar PradeshLucknow
28West BengalKolkata
All Indian States and Their Capitals

India’s administrative, legislative, and judicial capitals are located in each state. According to some sources, all three tasks are carried out in the same capital. A Chief Minister is in charge of each state. This article covers the Indian States, the Union Territories, and their capitals.

India now has 28 states and eight union territories. The former state of Jammu and Kashmir was divided into two Union Territories (UTs): J&K and Ladakh. Reorganisation legislation voted by Parliament on the 5th and 6th of August 2020 created the newly constituted union territories. India now has eight Union Territories.

all indian states and their capitals
Map of India

The appointed day for the two Union Territories of J&K and Ladakh, according to the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act of 2019, was October 31. A state has been split into two Union Territories for the first time. With effect from January 26, 2020, India’s total number of states will be 28. India now has 8 union territories.

Since January 26, the Union Territories of Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli have been merged into one union territory, thanks to a bill enacted by Parliament during the winter session. The number of UTs has been reduced to eight with the merger of Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli.

Following is the list of Union Territories of India, along with their capitals.

Union TerritoryCapital
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and DiuDaman
DelhiNew Delhi
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)
LadakhLeh, Kargil
Indian Union Territories
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button